### Governor's FY 2020 Budget

Staff Presentation to the House Finance Committee April 24, 2019

## Introduction

- Governor requested amendments for 3 new articles
  - Public Utilities Reserve Account
  - Student Loans
  - RI Health Benefit Exchange

- Established by RIGL 39-1-26
- To provide resources for PUC during investigations and hearing relating to the application and filings made by public utilities including
  - Temporary legal counsel, stenographers, engineers, accountants, economists, and expert witnesses
- Expenditures are billed back to the applicant

- Current law limits total amount that can be charged
  - \$750,000 per utility per calendar year & \$250,000 for federal agency proceedings

Annual Billing Cap Per Utility by Proceeding			
Year	State	Federal	Total
Pre-2001	\$160,000	160,000	\$320,000
2001	\$250,000	250,000	\$500,000
2009	\$500,000	500,000	\$1,000,000
2017	\$750,000	250,000	\$1,000,000
2019	No Distinction		\$1,000,000

- Removes billing cap distinction between federal and state proceedings
- Allows the Commission to charge utilities up to \$250,000 for investigations and proceedings relating to
  - Widespread utility outages
  - Review of emergency response plans
    - Prompted by the natural gas service outage on Aquidneck Island on January 2019

- No general revenue impact
  - Increased cost usually passed to ratepayers

### Past billings based on proceeding type

CY	<b>Billed Utilities</b>	State	Fed.	Total	
	National Grid Electric	\$742,245	\$297		
2018	National Grid Gas	\$480,919	-	\$1,335,410	
	All Other (8 Utilities)	\$111,949	-		
	National Grid Electric	\$622,684	-		
2017	National Grid Gas	\$158,130	-	\$838,356	
	All Other (8 Utilities)	\$57,542	-		

- Governor requested an amendment to add a new article
  - Student Loan Bill of Rights
    - Standards for student loan servicers
      - Requires registration with DBR
    - Protections for borrowers



- Workgroup on Student Loan Borrower Protection
  - 2018 S 2982 requested that OPC form a work group
    - Review how RI can protect student loan borrowers
    - Make recommendations to the Speaker of the House and Senate President
  - Work group met 4 times between September and December
    - Issued report February 2019

### Report findings

- 1 in 5 Rhode Islanders have student loan debt
- Rhode Islanders carry \$4.4 billion in outstanding federal & private loans
  As of Q4 2016
- Of 2016 RI Graduates
  - 61% incurred loans w/ average total debt of \$31,217

#### Report findings

- "Lack of federal regulations in this industry puts borrowers – a captive market – at a disadvantage"
- No consistent, market-wide federal standards for loan servicing
- Loan servicers are failing to adequately educate and assist borrowers

- 6 states & D.C. regulate loan servicers
  - CA, CT, IL, MD, VA, WA, D.C.
  - Legislation varies but common elements are
    - Setting standards for student loan servicing & reporting requirements
    - Licensing requirements for loan servicers
    - Establishing student loan ombudsperson
      - Help borrowers understand their rights
      - Resolve complaints

- Workgroup recommendations
  - Require servicers to register with DBR
    - DBR primary entity to register & collect fees
  - Set minimum standards for loan servicing
    - Requirements to notify borrowers about loan status, progress towards repayment, & eligibility for loan assistance programs
  - AG's Office & DBR to
    - Investigate potential violations of standards
    - Issue penalties for noncompliance
    - Seek financial restitution for borrowers

- New Article on Student Loans contains many of workgroup's recommendations
  - Borrower assistance, education & complaints
  - Registration of Student Loan Servicers
  - Other Servicer Responsibilities
    - Reporting & record keeping
  - Examinations & Fines
  - Investigation & Enforcement
  - Does <u>not</u> include ombudsman
    - Borrowers would take complaints to AG's Consumer Protection Unit instead

- Borrower assistance, education, & complaints
  - AG's Office of Consumer Protection w/ DBR, Treasurer, Commissioner of Postsecondary Ed
    - Receive, review & attempt to resolve borrower complaints
    - Compile & analyze data on complaints
    - Assist borrowers to understand rights & responsibilities
    - Share information on availability of AG consumer protection unit to assist borrowers
    - Meet at least once per quarter to coordinate efforts

#### Registration of Student Loan Servicers

- Each person/entity that services student education loans issued after July 1, 2019 must register with Department of Business Regulation as a student loan servicer by September 30, 2019
  - Exemption for those that service fewer than 6 loans
- Annual registration fee of \$1,000
- DBR may assess \$10,000 fine for noncompliance

- Other Servicer Responsibilities
  - Must provide annually or upon request
    - Terms of loan
    - Progress towards repayment
    - Eligibility for loan relief
      - Income driven repayment plans, public service loan forgiveness, forbearance, deferment
  - Sets reporting, record keeping, & communication requirements
    - Annual \$55 report filing fee

Article prohibits servicers from

- Defrauding or misleading borrowers
- Engaging in unfair or deceptive practices
- Knowingly or recklessly
  - Applying loan payments to outstanding balance
  - Providing inaccurate info to a credit bureau
- Refusing to communicate w/ authorized rep.
- Making false statements
- Failing to properly evaluate for repayment or loan forgiveness before placing borrower in forbearance or default

#### Examinations and Fines

- Gives DBR authority to conduct examinations of registrants
  - Cost borne by registrant similar to banking, securities, & insurance
    - 150% of salaries and benefits; 100% of travel & transportation
- Gives DBR power to issue fines for violations
  - No more than \$2,000 per violation
  - Deposited into restricted receipt account

- Investigation and Enforcement
  - AG may enforce violations under deceptive trade practices statutes
  - Allows borrow to bring private or class action

Туре	Frequency	Amount
<b>Registration Fee</b>	Annual	\$1,000
<b>Report Filing Fee</b>	Annual	\$55
Late Report Fee	Upon violation	\$25
Fines	Upon violation	\$2,000 per violation

- Deposited into restricted receipt account in DBR
  - Transferred to RR account in AG Office
    - "for purpose of administering the provisions of this chapter"

- No fiscal impact assumed
  - ~ 50 student loan servicers
- Appears plan is to fund lawyer in AG's Consumer Protection Unit
- No current request for FY 2020 allocation or expenditure

#### Annual Revenue

<b>Registration Fees</b>	\$50,000
<b>Report Filing Fees</b>	2,750
Total Revenue	\$52,750
State 10% Indirect Cost Recovery	\$5,275
Amount to AG	\$47,475

State	App. Fee	Investigation Fee	Fine/Penalty
CA	\$300	\$100	
CT	\$1,000	\$800	None
IL	\$1,000	\$800	
MD		None	\$10,000; \$25,000 for repeat violation
RI	\$1,000	150% of staff + expenses	\$2,000 per violation; \$10,000 for failure to register or comply
VA	None		\$2,500 per violation per day
WA	\$1,162	\$69 per person/ per hour	None
D.C.	\$1,100	\$400 per day	

	House Legislative History			
Session	Bill #	Committee	Location of Ombudsman	
2016	7081	HEW	Division of Higher Education Assistance, OPC	
2017	6056	Corporations	DBR	
2018	7881	Finance	Office of Postsecondary Commissioner	
2019	5936*	Finance	No ombudsman	

\*Essentially the same as GBA

#### Possible changes to GBA identified

 Add clarifying language to ensure that borrowers consolidating private and federal loans are notified in advance of any impact to eligibility for other relief

Public Service Loan Forgiveness for example

 Correct typos and make technical corrections

- Affordable Care Act requires exchanges be self-sustaining
- 2015 Assembly adopted health premium assessment
  - Based on premiums sold on exchange
    - Effective, January 2016
  - Limited to amount that would be raised through federally facilitated marketplace

- U.S. Health and Human Services charges assessment of 3.5% for plans sold on federally-facilitated marketplace
  - Rule change decreases fee to 3.0%

Effective January 1, 2020

- Article decouples from federal model
  - Establishes an assessment fee of 3.5% in state statute
    - Effective January 1, 2020

- Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act of 2010
  - Also called ACA, Obamacare
- Goal of decreasing number of uninsured individuals
- Required all individuals to have medical coverage or pay a penalty
  - Certain exemptions allowed

- States had options for type of marketplace
  - State-based marketplace
  - State-partnership marketplace
- Federally-facilitated marketplace
   HealthSource RI received \$152 million from federal funds for establishment of exchange

- Federally-Facilitated Exchange
  - HHS assumes primary responsibilities
  - States may elect to perform or can use federal exchange
    - Reinsurance program
    - Medicaid and CHIP eligibility
- State-Partnership Marketplace
  - Shared responsibilities and manages certain activities
    - Plan management
    - Consumer assistance

#### State-Based Exchange

- Operates its own health exchange
- Performs all related activities
- Currently 11 states & DC

Assessment only on plans offered through marketplace	California, Colorado, Idaho, Massachusetts, Minnesota, Rhode Island & Washington
Assessment on plans inside/outside of marketplace	Connecticut, DC and Maryland
State appropriation	New York and Vermont

FY 2020	Exch. Projected Enrollment	Projected Avg. Mthly Premiums	Annual Premiums	Dental Premiums	Total
Ind. Group	30,193	\$443	\$160.5	\$5.6	\$166.1
Small Group	5,855	\$466	32.7	0.8	33.5
		Total			\$199.6
Federal Facilitated Marketplace					
3.5% Equivalent				\$7.0	) million
3.0% Equivalent				\$6.0	) million
Difference – Annualized \$(1.0)				million	

Recommended budget assumes receipts of \$6.9 million for FY 2020

Fiscal Year	Assessment Receipts
2020 Projected	\$6,975,000
2019 Projected	\$6,827,000
2018	\$6,099,375
2017	\$5,750,623
2016*	\$2,773,520

\*FY 2016 reflects half a year of receipts

### Governor's FY 2020 Budget

Staff Presentation to the House Finance Committee April 24, 2019